Two AAAS members awarded Kavli Prize Thursday, May 31, 2012 Every two years the Kavli Prize is awarded to scientists who work in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. In 2012 seven scientists were awarded the prize, including two members of AAAS: Ann M. Graybiel (neuroscience prize) and Mildred S. Dresselhaus (nanoscience prize) of M.I.T. 5 Things About Me: Professor of History Alan Rocke 5 Things About Me: Professor of History Alan Rocke Member Spotlight October 9, 2015 Science historian Alan Rocke started off as a “science kid” growing up near Chicago. Now he is an expert on the history of chemistry. Rocke shares his love of science with his students by presenting the societal context in which scientific discoveries were made. While on vacation, he likes to do research for a course he teaches on the history of food.    Two AAAS members awarded 2015 Nobel Prize in Chemistry Two AAAS members awarded 2015 Nobel Prize in Chemistry Tuesday, October 6, 2015 The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2015 was awarded jointly to Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar "for having mapped, at a molecular level, how cells repair damaged DNA and safeguard the genetic information. Their work has provided fundamental knowledge of how a living cell functions and is, for instance, used for the development of new cancer treatments," according to the official annoucement on the Nobel website. Both Lindahl and Modrich are members of AAAS. Enter the 2015 Green Talents Competition Enter the 2015 Green Talents Competition Monday, May 18, 2015 The Green Talents Competition of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research is searching for up-and-coming scientists in the field of sustainable development. Selected as one of the 25 awardees you are invited to visit the hot spots of German sustainability research and establish a unique network with peers and experts. The 2015 award includes: VIDEO: James Kakalios uses comic superheros to teach science Video March 10, 2015 University of Minnesota physics professor James Kakalios grew up reading comic books. He was a fan of The Flash, Spiderman and The Fantastic Four, among others. In 2001, he taught a freshman seminar that focused on the physics of superheroes as a way to motivate students. The course was wildly popular and lead to his authoring two books on the subject, The Physics of Superheroes and The Amazing Story of Quantum Mechanics. NIH prize challenges innovators to 'Follow That Cell' NIH prize challenges innovators to 'Follow That Cell' Wednesday, November 5, 2014 The National Institutes of Health is challenging science innovators to compete for prizes totaling up to $500,000, by developing new ways to track the health status of a single cell in complex tissue over time. The NIH Follow that Cell Challenge seeks tools that would, for example, monitor a cell in the process of becoming cancerous, detect changes due to a disease-causing virus, or track how a cell responds to treatment. 5 Things About Me: Chemist Cecil Dybowski 5 Things About Me: Chemist Cecil Dybowski Member Spotlight December 19, 2014 As a survivor of childhood cancer, Cecil Dybowski found himself drawn to scientific pursuits. And as both a musician and a music aficionado, he has a deep appreciation for music and art. Both of his interests interconnect in his current work: He uses spectroscopy to study how different materials interact, including the chemical reactions that are destroying famous works of art. AAAS BOO-LECULAR STENCIL – Test Tubes AAAS boo-lecular stencil – Test Tubes Download October 30, 2014 IT'S PUMPKIN CARVING TIME! This Halloween, show your love for Science with a AAAS pumpkin carving stencil. Free to download now! AAAS Fellow William E. Moerner awarded 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry AAAS Fellow William E. Moerner awarded 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry Tuesday, October 7, 2014 AAAS Fellow William E. Moerner of Stanford University is one of three scientists awarded the 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, in recognition of his groundbreaking contributions in bringing “optical microscopy into the nanodimension.” Grant opportunity for early-career women in chemical sciences Monday, June 30, 2014 The objective of the Marion Milligan Mason Award for Women in the Chemical Sciences, is to kick-start the research career of promising future senior investigators. The Marion Milligan Mason Fund will provide three grants of $50,000 every other year to women researchers engaged in basic research in the chemical sciences. Awards are for women who are starting their academic research careers. In addition to research funding, the program will provide leadership development and mentoring opportunities.